Il Tempo Del Postino

Hans Ulrich Obrist & Philippe Parreno

The film documents the critically acclaimed group show, Il Tempo del Postino, curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist and Philippe Parreno. Conceived as an exhibition that would occupy time rather than space, Il Tempo del Postino presents a sequential display of time-based art.

Il Tempo del Postino featured the following leading visual artists: Doug Aitken, Matthew Barney & Jonathan Bepler, Tacita Dean, Thomas Demand, Trisha Donnelly, Olafur Eliasson, Peter Fischli, David Weiss, Liam Gillick, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Douglas Gordon, Carsten Höller, Pierre Huyghe, Koo Jeong-A, Anri Sala, Tino Sehgal, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Arto Lindsay, Darius Khondji, Peter Saville and Ramdane Touhami.

First premiered on the stage of the Manchester Opera House in July 2007, Il Tempo del Postino was presented in Basel Theater in June 2009 during ArtBasel 2009. By focusing on time-based work, this group show will aim to redefine how visual arts can be created and experienced. Set in a theatre, it transforms the established gallery model into a unique, shared audience extravanganz.